Pikelet Competition

My Mum would always tell stories about the old grandmas and nanas at the A+P shows that would enter the competitions for the perfect pikelet. She would take about how the were perfect in size and eveness and had a evenly toned brown colouring. I would as you can imagine wonder how these ladies managed to pull off such a feat when mine always came out well…a bit messy.

When reading through my new cookbook I found a handy hint that had been taken from a nineteen thirties cookbook explaining that instead of using butter you can use a cut potato to grease the pan to give the pikelets an even colour. Well I was a bit skeptical of this, but it worked!! (well sort of, better than usual, lets just put it that way!)

As you can see, my pikelets weren’t exactly perfect but they are a damn sight better than they usually are!

Here is the recipe I used:

1 Egg

2tbsp Castor Sugar

170ml Milk

125g Flour

1tsp Baking Powder

1tbsp Butter

1tbsp Golden Syrup (optional but reccomended by me!)

Beat the egg and sugar in a mixing bowl until pale and fluffy

Tip in the milk, sifted flour, baking powder and lastly the melted butter and golden syrup. Mix well.

Grease the surface of the pan with the potato or oil

Then you know the drill, pour or spoon mix onto hot pan, wait for the bubbles then flip.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pikelet Competition”


  1. 1 Joshua March 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I am happy to make the noble sacrifice and offer my services as a pikelet judge if necessary.

  2. 2 Chelsea robinson June 18, 2010 at 3:12 am

    MMMMMM I just used this recipe to make some and was totally thrilled! nice post šŸ™‚


Leave a comment




Join 11 other subscribers
Contact us at: nanatechnz@gmail.com